RSS

Quick Note

18 Jul

I’m dashing this off quickly, so I won’t be linking to anything (I’m strangely and inconsistently particular about the articles to which I link, and I suspect that finding the right articles for this post would take more time than I have at the moment).

Arizona has had a use tax for several years but has never really enforced it. If you’re wondering, “use taxes” are applied to online purchases from out-of-state companies that don’t charge state sales taxes on the item(s) being purchased. For example, if I were to order a T-shirt from a company in Wisconsin and the Wisconsin-based company didn’t charge me sales tax on that T-shirt, Arizona then has the right to charge a “use tax.” The state has never enforced this tax.

But they’re going to start. Any time I order anything online, I’m going to have to save the receipts and pay taxes on it at the end of the year.

Arizona’s government is predominantly Republican. Arizona’s Republicans generally are of the “NO NEW TAXES EVER UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES EVER DAMMIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” variety. But this tax hits poor and middle class people harder than upper class people, and the use tax law, though as yet unenforced, is not new, so they can pretend that they’re not raising taxes.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 18, 2011 in Seriously?

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
